Linrodeth Role Playing System

© Tina Monk and Chris Carrigan, November 1996. Version 4.0.
This rule book may be freely copied and distributed for non-commercial use only. All other rights reserved.

 Role-playing is a form of interactive storytelling where several people create the tale between them. Each player controls a character within the story, while a referee resolves questions and actions as the plot develops. It is a collective effort, like a cross between a book and an improvised play. To take part in the story, you will need to create a character. Just as in real life, characters in a role-playing game are far from perfect. Each has strengths and weaknesses, areas of knowledge or ignorance. These qualities fall into two main areas: physical and mental attributes that the character was born with, and skills which they learn as they progress through life.

Physical and Mental Attributes
 The character is described by eight attributes which are determined randomly by dice rolls. The character's ability in each is measured by a 0 to 100 score. On this scale 100 represents an almost unattainable maximum, and 0 an almost terminal minimum.

Sheer muscular power.
Hand to eye co-ordination.
Sense of balance and speed of reflexes.
Health, ability to endure injury and hardship
Physical beauty and good looks.
Reasoning ability and scholastic memory.
The character's ability to think on their feet.
Strength of mind and determination.
There are also three other attributes that are calculated from them and which are used by this system.
Interest Points
Ability and will to learn.
Fatigue Points
Ability to keep going.
Wound Points
Ability to take damage.

Character Skills
 Like the attributes, the ability a character has in a particular skill is measured on a 0 to 100 scale, where 0 represents complete ignorance and 100 means total mastery. The character's ability in a skill determines the range of performance they can achieve. A dice roll is used to find out the actual performance for a particular task.A character's ability in a skill depends upon its difficulty and the amount of time and effort they have put into developing it. Characters assign their Interest Points to skills. Each week the character receives a number of development points for that skill, depending upon the amount of interest they show in it. The greater the total number of development points, and the easier the skill, the better their ability will be.

Playing the Character
 When the character wants to do something the referee will determine which attribute or skill is needed. The player then needs to find out how well their character performed the task.
 This is determined using the tables on the middle pages. Find the row on the table that corresponds to the character's ability level. Roll percentile dice and look along the row for the range that includes the number rolled. The column determines the performance level achieved.
 For example, the character has an ability of 10 and you roll 47%. In the row for ability 10, 47% is in the range 37-48%, which means a performance of 7 is achieved. The following list describes how effective each level of performance is.

0 Disastrous 13 Good
1 Dangerous 14 Skilful
2 Terrible 15 Adept
3 Hopeless 16 Impressive
4 Humiliating 17 Excellent
5 Embarrassing 18 Superb
6 Poor 19 Brilliant
7 Mediocre 20 Dazzling
8 Adequate 21 Amazing
9 Sound 22 Astonishing
10 Competent 23 Astounding
11 Capable 24 Awesome
12 Effective 25 Unbelievable

 In competitions such as combat the characters compare their performance. A difference of 1 or 2 is a marginal win, 4 or more is a significant difference.

Effect of Fatigue and Tiredness
 As your character becomes fatigued, their performance becomes limited. When rolling dice to find performance, the number of fatigue points you have is an upper limit on the dice roll you can make. So if your fatigue points drop to 89, any dice roll over 89% will be counted as 89% and the performance worked out accordingly.
 A character can become fatigued in a number of ways such as loss of sleep, exertion or from receiving injuries. Being awake for more than 16 hours a day will result in the character losing 10 fatigue points an hour.
 Fatigue points (FP) are normally regained at a rate of 5 FP per hour of rest, quiet activity or sleep. The FP lost through not sleeping can only be regained by sleeping over the normal eight hours. A character who is down on sleep cannot recover any fatigue points until they sleep.
 Next page...

Page 1  Page 2  Page 3  Page 4  Page 5  Page 6  Page 7  Page 8